Ashes

ashes

These days my thoughts are like ashes

So light, they crumble and dissolve with the slightest move

The more they gather, the more I ignore

Seconds pass, minutes, days and lifetimes

They grow lighter

They build up, and then dissipate without rhyme or reason

I do everything I can to not associate

This is me

The one who was born way before them

Those are them

Tiny creatures, they come then go

Through it all, I remain

How they aspire to sink in their roots and possess

Great impersonators, commentators and confusers

The sand picks up and I sit in the middle of it all

Then they are gone with the wind

Once more, I am alone again

With everything to gain

Leave a Reply

